Essentially… On the Fence

So, you’re on the fence.

Another network marketing company. Another “party” to host. Another product that sits on your shelf, for eternity.

Yeah. I know what you mean.

I’d like to preface this blog with an introduction on me. My name is Kari. I come from a background first in the paramedic field, and then sales; but I’m not here to sell you – and I’m definitely not here to hold your c-spine. I love animals (often more than people), spending time with family (who often behave like animals), being on the water, and sitting in the sunshine; I’ve recently been more conscious of all things me: what I eat, what I use on my skin, how I want to live.

I started dabbling in essential oils over 2 years ago. I had a wretched cold that beat me up, hung on by a thread, and came back to kick my butt for four months straight. I was determined that I wasn’t going to go to the doctor for an antibiotic that I would have to build myself back up from. I was also travelling to the Caribbean for a destination wedding and dreading having to be in the sun with the sniffles – so, reluctantly, I opted for the drugs.

While on vacation, I went for a massage. The spa attendant heard me sniffing and sneezing and brought me a cotton swab soaked with the most delicious scent. It instantly helped to clean my sinuses and relieved the pressure in my head. It was eucalyptus oil. I stopped the antibiotic that day, and I went back to her every morning for a fresh swab. The cold never returned.

Later that summer, I thought I’d like to get some of that oil – it was clean and fresh smelling and it might be nice to have around the house. Little did I know then, what I know now.

We can get essential oils just about anywhere – natural health food stores being a common source. However, buyer beware, when you’re buying a bottle of “100% pure and natural oil” as seen on the label.

Often times these oils are mixed with a carrier, filler, or other substance creating an oil blend. One of my “essential oils” tells me to contact a poison control centre if accidentally ingested. Which poses the question – if this is 100% pure plant based, properly extracted, why am I worrying about poison?

Essential oils should be extracted from plants in primarily one of two ways: steam distillation or expression. As the consumer, you have the right to know where your products have come from.  There are other ways, of course, that involve toxins and chemicals. Certainly not something being advertised, not even talked about.

The moral of my story is that if you’re interested in essential oils, it’s so important to be informed. As with anything you intend on breathing, applying or ingesting, you should know where it’s coming from, and any safety considerations that you should me mindful of.
I’m not here to sell you.
I’m here to answer your questions, let you experience the oils first hand, and see if they can improve an area of your life that you might be working on. If you have any questions, Like my Facebook Page and don’t hesitate to reach out on Messenger, follow me on Instagram @apotheKari_living or e-mail watson.kari@outlook.com. More to come!

Kari

Leave a Reply

